Dr. Ivan L. Boyd Recognition Award

The Boyd award is given to a member(s) of the Kansas Ornithological Society (KOS), usually each year, for outstanding contributions and service to the society. The Boyd Award is in recognition of the contributions of Dr. Ivan Boyd who was a KOS Founder, Charter Member, and the first president of KOS. He was also a Bulletin Editor and helped start the Baldwin Christmas Bird Count in 1942, which is the longest continuously running CBC in the state.

Nominations should provide a list of the nominee's contributions to KOS.  Contributions could include such things as number and years of offices held, committee involvement, papers presented at KOS, papers published in the Bulletin or Horned Lark, number of CBCs compiled, and years of membership; this is not an exclusive list and other contributions to the society may be provided. Current KOS Board members are not eligible to receive an award. The Board may select more than one recipient each year or may choose not to name a recipient in a given year.  Please refer to the Horned Lark newsletter for annual calls for nominations and deadlines.

Nomination Form (HTML)
Nomination Form (Word)
Nomination Form (PDF)

Past Recipients:
2003 - Charles Ely, Marvin Schwilling, Max Thompson
2004 - Katharine Kelley
2005 - Celia Markum, Dwight Platt
2006 - none
2007 - John Zimmerman
2008 - Tom Shane
2009 - none
2010 - Jean Schulenberg
2011 - Scott Seltman, Eugene and Eulalia Lewis
2012 - Calvin Cink, Richard Johnston
2013 - Roger Boyd
2014 - none
2015 - Dan Kilby
2016 - John Schukman
2017 - none
2018 - Pete Janzen
2019 - none
2020 - none
2021 - none
2022 - none
2023 - none

Return to KOS Projects Page
Page updated 11/27/2023 - ceo