Kansas Christmas Bird Counts, 2022 - 2023

Please contact the compiler for all details and to express interest in participating. If you have dates to add or information to change, or questions in general regarding these counts, please contact Chuck Otte at cotte@twinvalley.net. Starting in 2018, KOS has set standard dates that won't change from year to year. Those dates are December 12 to January 12. More details on some counts can be found by clicking on the CBC name.

If you've never participated in a Christmas Bird Count, here's some quick information about what they are and what to expect.

Compilers - The forms have been sent to compilers via email as of November 14th. If you did not receive yours, check your spam/junk filter and if it isn't there, contact Chuck.

Consider joining KOS or donating to KOS to support activities like this.

Updated November 29, 2022

Date/CBC Contact Contact/Meeting Information
     
Monday, December 12, 2022    
Kanopolis Lake  Bob Kruger Meet at Riverside Park at 8, bring your lunch, contact Bob first
     
Wednesday, December 14, 2022    
Linn County Roger Boyd rboydbird69@gmail.com 785.424.0595
Quivira NWR Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
     
Thursday, December 15, 2022    
Anthony Mary Herold Meet at McDonalds in Anthony at 8:00 a.m.
     
Saturday, December 17, 2022    
Halstead/Newton Lorna Harder lornajhh@gmail.com  316.200.4724
Hays Medhavi Ambardar Meet in Albertson Hall 169 (FHSU) at 7:30 906.281.1333
John Redmond Bob Culbertson bob.culbertson@kaws.org 620.364.9485
Lawrence Galen Pittman galenpitt@gmail.com
Manhattan Mark Mayfield markherb@ksu.edu 785.776.6495
Olathe Rosanna Munoz rosannamunoz@hotmail.com
Salina     Byron Grauerholz blgrauerholz@yahoo.com
Wichita Kevin Groeneweg kgroeneweg@sbcglobal.net 316.706.9116
     
Sunday, December 18, 2022    
Baldwin Calvin Cink ccinkbird76@gmail.com 785.594.6546
Bonner Springs/Lansing Galen Pittman galenpitt@gmail.com
Emporia Bill Jensen wjensen1@emporia.edu 620.341.5339
Olsburg Cindy Jeffrey cinraney@ksu.edu 785.565.3326
Oskaloosa/Perry Lake Debby McKee grmasmurf@gmail.com 785.220.6515
Udall/Winfield Max Thompson maxt@cox.net 620.229.3876
Wakefield Chuck Otte cotte@twinvalley.net 785.463.5485
Wilson Lake Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
     
Monday, December 19, 2022    
Cheyenne Bottoms Curtis Wolf Meet at Kansas Wetlands Education Center at 8:00 a.m. 877.243.9268
Yoder John Gallagher jgallagher@hutchrec.com 620.663.7411
     
Tuesday, December 20, 2022    
El Dorado Vickie Cikanek Vickie.Cikanek@ks.gov 785.501.0567
     
Wednesday, December 21, 2022    
Sawyer Jordan Hofmeier jordan.hofmeier@ks.gov 785.249.0874
Slate Creek Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.660.0547
     
Thursday, December 22, 2022    
Sedan Vickie Cikanek Vickie.Cikanek@ks.gov 785.501.0567
     
Friday, December 23, 2022    
Topeka Carol Morgan crxmorgan@gmail.com 785.554.5112
     
Monday, December 26, 2022    
Leavenworth/Atchison John Schukman schuksaya@kc.rr.com 913.547.1751
     
Tuesday, December 27, 2022    
Junction City Chuck Otte cotte@twinvalley.net 785.463.5485
     
Wednesday, December 28, 2022    
Arkansas City Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.660.0547
     
Thursday, December 29, 2022    
Dodge City Jeff Calhoun jeffcalhoun11@gmail.com 316.737.1307
Marion Tom Ewert trewert@yahoo.com 316.670.3140
     
Friday, December 30, 2022    
Holton Carol Morgan crxmorgan@gmail.com 785.554.5112
Red Hills Pete Janzen pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net 316.519.1970
     
Saturday, December 31, 2022    
Cimarron National Grasslands Max Thompson maxt@cox.net 620.229.3876
     
Sunday, January 1, 2023    
Black Mesa (Kenton, Oklahoma) Jimmie Woodard j.woodard@cox.net 405.365.5685
St. Marys Debby McKee grmasmurf@gmail.com 785.220.6515
Southeast Kansas Mined Lands Andrew George adgeorge@pittstate.edu  620.235.4030
     
Monday, January 2, 2023    
     
Saturday, January 7, 2023    
Blackwolf Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
     
To Be Announced, contact compiler    
Council Grove James Malcom iambirding@prodigy.net 785.256.2841

Garden City

Michael Ramsey mramsey@hmbcr.com
Kirwin Byron Grauerholz blgrauerholz@yahoo.com
Melvern Lake James Malcom iambirding@prodigy.net
Parsons Andrew Burnett aburnett9180@gmail.com 816.810.3913
Webster Reservoir Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
     

Back to home page