Kansas Christmas Bird Counts, 2011 - 2012

Please contact the compiler for all details. If you have dates to add or information to change, or questions in general regarding these counts, please contact Chuck Otte at otte2@cox.net. Many of these are "Audubon" counts so there may be a small fee to participate. I have indicated this on all that I was made aware of in the additional information at the bottom of the page.  Please contact the compiler for details. 

Updated December 25, 2011

Date/CBC Compiler Contact
Sunday, December 11, 2011    
Kanopolis Lake Bob Kruger robertkru@gmail.com 785.227.5325
Wednesday, December 14, 2011    
Quivira NWR Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Linn County Roger Boyd rboyd@bakeru.edu 785.594.3172
Thursday, December 15, 2011    
Cheyenne Bottoms Rob Penner rpenner@tnc.org 620.786.4745
Friday, December 16, 2011    
Olsburg Gary Jeffrey gjeffrey@twinvalley.net 785.468.3587
Yoder Mary Clark mclark@hutchrec.com 620.663.7411
Saturday, December 17, 2011    
Halstead/Newton Lorna Harder lornah@hesston.edu 620.367.8479
Hays Greg Farley gfarley@fhsu.edu
Lawrence Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.760.3572
Manhattan Dave Rintoul drintoul at ksu.edu 785.532.6615
Olathe Don Weiss don.weiss@comcast.net 913.634.0135
Salina To be determined  
Topeka Jim Malcom iambirding@prodigy.net 785.256.2841
Wichita Kevin Groeneweg kgroeneweg@sbcglobal.net 316.709.9116
Sunday, December 18, 2011    
Baldwin City Roger Boyd rboyd@bakeru.edu 785.594.3172
El Dorado Bill Langley blangley@butlercc.edu 316.889.5434
Oskaloosa/Perry Lake Bunnie Watkins bunnie.a.watkins@usace.army.mil 785.597.5144
Udall/Winfield Max Thompson maxt@cox.net 620.221.1856
Wakefield Chuck Otte otte2@cox.net 785.238.8800
Wilson Lake Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Wednesday, December 21, 2011    
Slate Creek Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.660.0547
Thursday, December 22, 2011    
Waconda Henry Armknecht armknecht@ruraltel.net 785.345.4074
Friday, December 23, 2011    
Arkansas City Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.660.0547
Parsons/SEK Audubon Rick Tucker rickt@wavewls.com 620.421.4913(h) 620.423.9693(c)
Monday, December 26, 2011    
Bonner Springs/Lansing Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.760.3572
Junction City Chuck Otte otte2@cox.net 785.238.8800
Wednesday, December 28, 2011    
Fall River Dan Larson delkan@hughes.net  785.862.6551(H), 785.215.5886(C)
Webster Reservoir Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Thursday, December 29, 2011    
Red Hills Pete Janzen pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net  316.519.1970
Friday, December 30, 2011    
John Redmond Bob Culbertson bob.culbertson@ksoutdoors.com 620.364.2522
Ulysses Kellye Hart pubah73@yahoo.com 620-356-2882
Saturday, December 31, 2011    
Cimarron National Grasslands Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Leavenworth John Schukman schuksaya@kc.rr.com
Sunday, January 1, 2012    
Black Mesa Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Southeast Kansas Mined Land Steve Ford 620.632.4280
Tuesday, January 3, 2012    
Holton Dan Larson delkan@hughes.net 785.862.6551(H), 785.215.5886(C)
Thursday, January 5, 2012    
Sawyer Ken Brunson brunson@sctelcom.net 620.672.7289
Saturday, January 7, 2012    
Blackwolf Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Doniphan Mike Stewart ab0vm@kc.rr.com 913.240.1238
Marion Tom Ewert trewert@yahoo.com 316.670.3140
Sunday, January 8, 2012    
Benedictine Bottoms John Bollin bollinj@umkc.edu 816.289.5554
Derby/Belle Plaine Jeff Calhoun jeffcalhoun11@gmail.com 316.737.1307
To Be Announced, contact compiler    
Clark County Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.760.3572

Additional Information for above counts.  Note: "$5.00 NAS" means that this is a count that is reported to National Audubon Society and all participants pay a $5.00 fee to the National Audubon Society.

Arkansas City - Meet at Newman Park on Highway 77 just north of the Arkansas River bridge at 8:00 a.m. $5.00 NAS

Baldwin City - Meet at Santa Fe Depot in West Baldwin (near grain elevator) by 7:15 a.m. Contact Roger ahead of time for more information and that you plan to attend.

Benedictine Bottoms - Meet at the Atchison McDonalds, 118 South 8th Street at 7:30 a.m.  Please contact compiler if you are interested.

Black Mesa - Contact compiler ahead of time for further instructions.

Blackwolf - Meet at the Rader residence in Wilson at 7:30 a.m.

Bonner Springs/Lansing - Please contact Galen by email.  Meet at 7:00 a.m. at the McDonalds at the corner of K-7 & Kansas Ave in Bonner Springs.

Cheyenne Bottoms - Meet at the Kansas Wetlands Education Center at 8:00 a.m.  Lunch will be provided.

Cimarron National Grasslands - Contact compiler ahead of time for further instructions.

Derby/Belle Plaine - Meet at the Target parking lot at 2024 N. Rock Road in Derby at 7:30 a.m. 

Doniphan - Parties and locations are determined ahead of time. Please contact Mike ahead of time if you want to participate.

El Dorado - Meet at the McDonalds in El Dorado, 2004 West Central, at 7:30 a.m. $5.00 NAS

Halstead/Newton - Meet at the Kaufman Museum in North Newton at 6:45 a.m.  $7.50 participation fee.  Bring a sack lunch.  Compilation at 5:30 p.m. at the museum.

Hays - Meet at the south entrance of Albertson Hall, Fort Hays State University campus at 7:30 a.m.

Kanopolis Lake - Meet at Smoky Hill Trading Post (SHTP) along Highway 141 just south of Kanopolis Dam by 7:30 a.m. SHTP opens at 7:00 a.m. Breakfast, lunch and snack items available for purchase. Valid daily or annual permit required to enter state park areas, no permit required in Corp of Engineers areas.

John Redmond - Meet at 7:30 at the John Redmond Reservoir Corps of Engineer's Office.

Junction City - Meet at Sapp Brothers Truck stop, I-70 Exit 295, at 7:30 a.m.

Lawrence - Parties and locations are determined ahead of time.  Please contact Galen ahead of time if you want to participate.

Leavenworth - Email John Schukman for details.

Linn County - Meet at restaurant east of intersection of US69 and KS152 at 7:15 a.m.  Please contact Roger Boyd for more information if you are going to participate. $5.00 NAS

Marion - Meet at Wendy's in Hillsboro at 7:30 a.m. for assignments. Contact Tom (above) or Tristan Weinbrenner, ksbirder.tw@gmail.com for more information.

Olathe - Meet at Ernie Miller Park on K-7 at 7:00 a.m.  Please contact compiler if you want to participate.

Olsburg - Meeting at Loberg's grocery in Olsburg at 7:15 - 7:30 a.m. for breakfast.

Oskaloosa/Perry Lake - Contact compiler beforehand for assignments.

Parsons - Meet at the Stockyard Plaza truck stop at 7:00 a.m., located at US 400 and 59 Hwy junction, 1 mile north of Parsons. $5.00 NAS

Quivira - Meet at the headquarters at 7:30 a.m.  Contact Mike Rader ahead of time if you plan to participate.  $5.00 NAS

Red Hills - Meet at the Indian Grill Restaurant on U.S. 160 in Medicine Lodge at 7:30 a.m.  $5.00 NAS

Salina - Meeting place is Lakewood Discovery Center at Lakewood Park in Salina. Meet at 7:30 am. $5.00 NAS??

Sawyer - Meet at the Pratt Headquarters for Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks at 8:00 a.m.  Bring your own lunch.  Chili at the Brunson's following.  Contact Ken for more details.

Slate Creek - Meet at the Slate Creek Baptist Church, 7 miles south of Oxford at 8:00 a.m.

Southeast Kansas Mined Land - Meet at the Express Lane, northeast corner at N Hwy 7 & Katy, Scammon, KS at 7:00 a.m.

Topeka - Contact compiler for information.  $5.00 NAS

Udall/Winfield - Meet at Southwestern College, Beech Science Center at 7:30 a.m.  $5.00 NAS

Ulysses - Meet at McDonald's between 8:00 and 8:30, US160 and Main in Ulysses.

Waconda - Meet at the wells on the Cawker City causeway (south of town) at 8:00 a.m.. $5.00 NAS

Wakefield - Meet at the Short Stop Convenience Store on main street in Wakefield at 7:15 a.m.

Webster Reservoir - Meet at the Webster State Park Office at 8:00 a.m.

Wichita - Meet at the Lawrence-Dumont Stadium parking lot at 7:30 a.m. Compilation is at 5:30 pm. at the Great Plains Nature Center. Chili and beverages will be provided. $5.00 NAS

Wilson Lake - Meet at the Wilson State Park office at 7:30 a.m., $5.00 NAS

Yoder - Meet at Carriage Crossing restaurant in Yoder at 7:00 a.m. for breakfast.

Back to home page