Kansas Christmas Bird Counts, 2010 - 2011

Please contact the compiler for all details. If you have dates to add or information to change, or questions in general regarding these counts, please contact Chuck Otte at otte2@cox.net. Many of these are "Audubon" counts so there may be a small fee to participate. I have indicated this on all that I was made aware of in the additional information at the bottom of the page.  Please contact the compiler for details. 

Updated December 26, 2010

Date/CBC Compiler Contact
Tuesday, December 14, 2010    
Quivira NWR Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Thursday, December 16, 2010    
Cheyenne Bottoms Rob Penner rpenner@tnc.org 620.564.3351 or 620.786.4745
Linn County Roger Boyd rboyd@bakeru.edu 785.594.3172
Saturday, December 18, 2010    
Halstead/Newton Lorna Harder lornah@hesston.edu 620.367.8479
Hays Greg Farley gfarley@fhsu.edu
John Redmond Bob Culbertson bob.culbertson@ksoutdoors.com 620.364.2522
Lawrence Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.842.7105
Manhattan Dave Rintoul drintoul at ksu.edu 785.532.6615
Olathe Don Weiss don.weiss@comcast.net 913.780.6588
Salina Harold Lear hvlear@yahoo.com 785.823.2366
Topeka Jim Malcom iambirding@prodigy.net 785.256.2841
Wichita Kevin Groeneweg kgroeneweg@sbcglobal.net 316.687.4268
Yoder Mary Clark mclark@hutchrec.com 620.663.7411
Sunday, December 19, 2010    
Baldwin City Roger Boyd rboyd@bakeru.edu 785.594.3172
El Dorado Bill Langley blangley@butlercc.edu 316.889.5434
Udall/Winfield Max Thompson maxt@cox.net 620.221.1856
Wakefield Chuck Otte otte2@cox.net 785.238.8800
Wilson Lake Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Monday, December 20, 2010    
Olsburg Gary Jeffrey gjeffrey@twinvalley.net 785.468.3587
Tuesday, December 21, 2010    
Sawyer Ken Brunson ken.brunson@ksoutdoors.com 620.672.0792 (office)
Wednesday, December 22, 2010    
Slate Creek Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.660.0547
Thursday, December 23, 2010    
Parsons/SEK Audubon Rick Tucker rickt@wavewls.com 620.421.4913
Sunday, December 26, 2010    
Arkansas City Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.442.4165
Leavenworth/Atchison John Schukman schuksaya@ks.rr.com
Monday, December 27, 2010    
Junction City Chuck Otte otte2@cox.net 785.238.8800
Fall River Dan Larson birdkansa@yahoo.com 785.862.6551(H), 785.215.5886(C)
Tuesday, December 28, 2010    
Waconda Henry Armknecht armknecht@RURALTEL.NET 785.345.4074
Saturday, January 1, 2011    
Bonner Springs/Lansing Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.842.7105
Elkhart Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Ulysses Kellye Hart pubah73@yahoo.com 620-356-2882
Sunday, January 2, 2011    
Benedictine Bottoms John Bollin bollinj@umkc.edu 816.289.5554
Black Mesa Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Blue Rapids  CANCELED Tom Parker tlparker1@sbcglobal.net 785.363.7228
Garden City Marie Osterbuhr mosterbuhr@yahoo.com
Red Hills Pete Janzen pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net  316.519.1970
Wednesday, January 5, 2011    
Holton Dan Larson birdkansa@yahoo.com 785.862.6551(H), 785.215.5886(C)
Saturday, January 8, 2011    
Blackwolf Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Doniphan Mike Stewart ab0vm@kc.rr.com 913.651.2565
Sunday, January 9, 2011    
Derby/Belle Plaine Jeff Calhoun jecalhoun@wichita.edu 316.737.1307
Kanopolis Lake Bob Kruger robertkru@gmail.com 785.227.5325
To Be Announced, contact compiler    
Clark County Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.842.7105
Webster Reservoir Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 

Additional Information for above counts.  Note: "$5.00 NAS" means that this is a count that is reported to National Audubon Society and all participants pay a $5.00 fee to the National Audubon Society.

Arkansas City - Meet at Newman Park on Highway 77 just north of the Arkansas River bridge at 8:00 a.m. $5.00 NAS

Baldwin City - Contact Roger ahead of time for instructions.

Benedictine Bottoms - Meet at the Atchison McDonalds, 118 South 8th Street at 7:00 a.m.  Please contact compiler if you are interested.

Black Mesa - Meet in Kenton, OK at 8:45 a.m. for assignments.  Contact compiler ahead of time for further instructions.

Blackwolf - Meet at the Rader residence in Wilson

Blue Rapids - Meet in front of the Blue Rapids Museum on the south side of the Town Square at 7:30 a.m.

Bonner Springs/Lansing - Email Galen Pittman for details. Date subject to change so very important to contact Galen!

Cheyenne Bottoms - Meet at the Kansas Wetlands Education Center at 8:00 a.m.  Lunch will be provided.

Derby/Belle Plaine - Meet at the Target parking lot at 2024 N. Rock Road in Derby at 7:30 a..m.  Compilation at the compiler's home with BBQ provided.

Doniphan - Parties and locations are determined ahead of time. Please contact Mike ahead of time if you want to participate.

El Dorado - Meet at the McDonalds in El Dorado, 2004 West Central, at 7:30 a.m. $5.00 NAS

Elkhart - Meet Friday evening at the El Rancho Motel (620-697-2117) or 8:30 a.m. Saturday in the Elkhart Cemetery for assignments.

Halstead/Newton - Meet at the Kaufman Museum in North Newton at 6:45 a.m.  $7.50 participation fee.  Bring a sack lunch.  Compilation at 5:30 p.m. at the museum.

Hays - Meet at the south entrance of Albertson Hall, Fort Hays State University campus at 7:30 a.m.

Kanopolis Lake - Meet at Smoky Hill Trading Post (SHTP) along Highway 141 near south end of Kanopolis Dam by 7:30 a.m. SHTP opens at 7:00 a.m. Food and beverages available for purchase. Final tally at 4:00 p.m. at SHTP

John Redmond - Meet at 7:30 at the John Redmond Reservoir Corps of Engineer's Office.

Junction City - Meet at Sapp Brothers Truck stop, I-70 Exit 295, at 7:30 a.m.

Lawrence - Parties and locations are determined ahead of time.  Please contact Galen ahead of time if you want to participate.

Leavenworth/Atchison - Email John Schukman for details. Date subject to change so very important to contact John!

Linn County - Please contact Roger Boyd if you are going to participate. $5.00 NAS

Olathe - Meet at Ernie Miller Park on K-7 at 7:00 a.m.  Please contact compiler if you want to participate.

Olsburg - Contact compiler for information

Parsons - Meet at the Stockyard Plaza truck stop at 7:00 a.m., located at US 400 and 59 Hwy junction, 1 mile north of Parsons. $5.00 NAS

Quivira - Meet at the headquarters at 7:15 a.m.  Contact Mike Rader ahead of time if you plan to participate.  $5.00 NAS

Red Hills - Meet at the Indian Grill Restaurant on U.S. 160 in Medicine Lodge at 7:30 a.m.  $5.00 NAS

Salina - Meeting place is Lakewood Discovery Center at Lakewood Park in Salina. Meet at 7:30 am.

Sawyer - Meet at the Pratt Headquarters for Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks at 7:30 a.m.  Bring your own lunch.  Chili at the Brunson's following.

Slate Creek - Meet at the Slate Creek Baptist Church, 7 miles south of Oxford at 8:00 a.m.

Topeka - Contact compiler for information.  $5.00 NAS

Udall/Winfield - Meet at Southwestern College, Beech Science Center at 7:30 a.m.  $5.00 NAS

Ulysses - Contact Kellye for details.

Waconda - Meet at the wells on the Cawker City causeway (south of town) at 8:00 a.m.. $5.00 NAS

Wakefield - Meet at the Short Stop Convenience Store on main street in Wakefield at 7:15 a.m.

Wichita - Meet at the Lawrence-Dumont Stadium parking lot at 7:30 a.m. Compilation is at 5:30 pm. at the Great Plains Nature Center. Chili and beverages will be provided. $5.00 NAS

Wilson Lake - Meet at the State Park lower office at 7:30 a.m., $5.00 NAS

Yoder - Meet at Carriage Crossing restaurant in Yoder at 7:00 a.m.

Back to home page