Kansas Christmas Bird Counts, 2008 - 2009

Please contact the compiler for all details. If you have dates to add or information to change, or questions in general regarding these counts, please contact Chuck Otte at otte2@cox.net. Many of these are "Audubon" counts so there may be a small fee to participate. I have indicated this on all that I was made aware of in the additional information at the bottom of the page.  Please contact the compiler for details. 

Updated Tuesday, December 23, 2008

Date/CBC Compiler Contact
Saturday, December 13, 2008    
Yoder Mary Clark mclark@hutchrec.com; 620.663.7411 (work)
Sunday, December 14, 2008    
Baldwin Roger Boyd RBoyd@bakeru.edu 785.594.3172
Doniphan Mike Stewart ab0vm@kc.rr.com 913.651.2565
Emporia Jean Schulenberg jschulen@emporia.edu 620.341.5896
Oskaloosa/Perry Lake Bunnie Watkins Bunnie.A.Watkins@usace.army.mil 785.597.5144
Wilson Lake Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Winfield/Udall Max Thompson maxt@cox.net 620.229.6304
Monday, December 15, 2008    
Quivira NWR Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Wednesday, December 17, 2008    
Sawyer Ken Brunson kenb@wp.state.ks.us 620.672.0792 (office)
Slate Creek Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.442.4165
Friday, December 19, 2008    
Cheyenne Bottoms Helen Hands helenh@wp.state.ks.us 620.793.3066
Saturday, December 20, 2008    
El Dorado Bill Langley blangley@butlercc.edu 316.889.5434
Halstead/Newton Dwight Platt platword@southwind.net 785.283.6708
Hays Greg Farley gfarley@fhsu.edu 785.628.5965
John Redmond Bob Culbertson bobc@wp.state.ks.us 620.364.2522
Kirwin - postponed! Craig Mowry 785.543.6673
Lawrence Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.842.7105
Manhattan Dave Rintoul drintoul at ksu.edu 785.532.6615
Olathe Don Weiss don.weiss@comcast.net 913.634.0135
Parsons/SEK Audubon Rick Tucker rickt@terraworld.net 620.421.4913
Salina - rescheduled for Jan 3rd Harold Lear hvlear@yahoo.com 785.825.7889
Topeka Jim Malcom jmalcom4@prodigy.net  785.256.2841
Wichita Kevin Groeneweg kgroeneweg@sbcglobal.net 346.687.4268
Sunday, December 21, 2008    
Arkansas City Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.442.4165
Bonner Springs/Lansing Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.842.7105
Scott Lake - postponed! Sara Shane tom.shane@sbcglobal.net 620.275.4616
Wakefield Chuck Otte otte2@cox.net 785.238.8800
Webster - postponed! Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Monday, December 22, 2008    
Camp Naish Stan Roth sdroth@ku.edu 785.843.4764 (h) 785.691.6381 (c)
Olsburg Gary Jeffrey gjeffrey@twinvalley.net 785.468.3587
Saturday, December 27, 2008    
Blue Rapids - rescheduled for Jan 3rd Tom Parker tlparker1@sbcglobal.net; 785.363.7228
Cimarron National Grasslands/Morton County Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Leavenworth/Atchison John Schukman schuksaya@kc.rr.com 912.727.5141
Sunday, December 28, 2008    
Junction City Chuck Otte otte2@cox.net 785.238.8800
Kenton/Black Mesa, OK Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Linn County Roger Boyd RBoyd@bakeru.edu 785.594.3172
Tuesday, December 30, 2008    
Waconda Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Thursday, January 1, 2009    
Mined Land Steve Ford sford@pittstate.edu 620.235.4745 or 620.632.4280
Ulysses Kellye Hart pubah73@yahoo.com
Friday, January 2, 2009    
Ingalls/Cimarron Dan LaShelle tom.shane@sbcglobal.net 620.275.4616
Saturday, January 3, 2009    
Blue Rapids - rescheduled date Tom Parker tlparker1@sbcglobal.net; 785.363.7228
Garden City Marie Osterbuhr mosterbuhr@yahoo.com 620.276.8145
Red Hills Pete Janzen pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net 316.832.0182
Salina - rescheduled date Harold Lear hvlear@yahoo.com 785.825.7889
Sunday, January 4, 2009    
Lakin Dan LaShelle tom.shane@sbcglobal.net 620.275.4616
Monday, January 5, 2009    
Old Garfield County Dan LaShelle tom.shane@sbcglobal.net 620.275.4616
Saturday, January 10, 2009    
Benedictine Bottoms Roxanna Tosterud rtosterud@benedictine.edu 913.367.0197
Syracuse Art Nonhof art.nonhof@GCCCKS.EDU
Saturday, January 17, 2009    
Blackwolf Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Sunday, January 18, 2009    
Kanopolis Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
To Be Announced, contact compiler    
Cedar Bluff Scott Seltman sselt@GBTA.NET
Webster Scott Seltman sselt@GBTA.NET

Additional Information for above count.  Note: "$5.00 NAS" means that this is a count that is reported to National Audubon Society and all participants pay a $5.00 fee to the National Audubon Society.

Arkansas City - Meet at Newman Park on Highway 77 just north of the Arkansas River bridge at 8:00 a.m. $5.00 NAS

Baldwin - Meet at Santa Fe Depot by 7:20am, $3 fee to participate

Blue Rapids - Meet in front of the Community Center on the Town Square at 7:30 a.m.

Camp Naish - Meet at main gate at 6:30 a.m.  FRS Radio Channel 2 Code 1

Cheyenne Bottoms - Meet at the Cheyenne Bottoms Wildlife Area office at 8:00 a.m.

Cimarron NG - Meet 8:15a.m. in the Elkhart Cemetery, or Friday night at the El Rancho Motel.  Contact the compiler if interested.

El Dorado - Meet at the McDonalds in El Dorado, 2004 West Central, at 7:30 a.m. $5.00 NAS

Halstead/Newton - Meet at the Kaufman Museum in North Newton at 6:30 a.m.  $7.50 participation fee.  Bring a sack lunch.  Compilation at 5:30 p.m. at the museum.

Hays - Meet at the south entrance of Albertson Hall, FHSU campus at 7:30 a.m.

John Redmond - Meet at 7:30 at the Corp Office west of New Strawn or the Flint Hills Refuge Office in Hartford.

Junction City - Meet at Sapp Brothers Truck stop, I-70 Exit 295, at 7:30 a.m.

Kenton - Meet 8:30 a.m. CST in downtown Kenton. Contact the compiler if interested.

Kirwin - Call Craig Mowry for assignments ahead of time.

Linn County - $5.00 NAS

Mined Land - Meet at the Express Lane Mini Mart on State Highway 7 by 7:00 a.m. (This is about five miles south of the town of Cherokee.)

Oskaloosa/Perry Lake - Contact compiler - area assignments will be given in advance.  $5.00 NAS

Olathe - Meet at the Ernie Miller Nature Park at 7:00 a.m.

Olsburg - Meet at the Randolph cafe (on hwy 77) at 7:00 a.m.

Parsons - Meet at the Stockyard Plaza truck stop at 7:00 a.m., located at US 400 and 59 Hwy, 1 mile north of Parsons. $5.00 NAS

Quivira - Meet at the headquarters at 7:15 a.m.

Red Hills - Meet at the Indian Grill Restaurant on U.S. 160 at 7:00 a.m.  $5.00 NAS

Salina - Meet at Lakewood Discovery Center in Lakewood Park by 7:30 a.m.

Sawyer - Meet at the Pratt Headquarters for Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks at 7:30 a.m.

Slate Creek - Meet at the Slate Creek Baptist Church, 7 miles south of Oxford at 8:00 a.m.

Udall/Winfield - Meet at Southwestern College, Beech Science Center at 7:30 a.m.  $5.00 NAS

Waconda - Meet at the wells on the causeway south of Cawker City at 7:30 a.m.

Wakefield - Meet at the Short Stop Convenience Store on main street in Wakefield at 7:15 a.m.

Wichita - Meet at the Lawrence-Dumont Stadium parking lot at 7:30 a.m. Compilation is at 5:30 pm. at the Great Plains Nature Center. Chili and beverages will be provided. $5.00 NAS

Back to home page