Kansas Christmas Bird Counts, 2007 - 2008

Please contact the compiler for all details. If you have dates to add or information to change, or questions in general regarding these counts, please contact Chuck Otte at otte@nqks.com. Many of these are "Audubon" counts so there may be a small fee to participate.  Please contact the compiler for details. 

Updated Thursday, December 29, 2007

Date/CBC Compiler Contact
Friday, December 14, 2007    
Quivira - postponed to Jan 4, 2008 Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Saturday, December 15, 2007    


Dwight Platt 785.283.6708
Hays - postponed Greg Farley gfarley@fhsu.edu 785.628.5965
John Redmond Bill Culbertson bobc@wp.state.ks.us 620.364.2522
Lawrence Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.842.7105
Manhattan drintoul at ksu.edu 785.532.6615; www.ksu.edu/audubon
Olathe - postponed to December 29th Don Weiss don.weiss@comcast.net 913.634.0135
Salina - postponed to December 29th Harold Lear 785-825-7889
Topeka Gary Haden gchaden@earthlink.com 785.273.5598
Wichita Pete Janzen pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net 316.832.0182
Sunday, December 16, 2007    
Bonner Springs/Lansing Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu 785.842.7105
Oskaloosa/Perry Lake Bunnie Watkins Bunnie.A.Watkins@nwk02.usace.army.mil 785.597.5144
Scott Lake Sara Shane tom.shane@sbcglobal.net 620.275.4616
Toronto/Fall River - postponed to Jan 6 Aaron Mitchell aaronmitchell76@hotmail.com 913.980.2379
Udall/Winfield Max Thompson maxt@cox.net 620.221.1856
Wakefield Chuck Otte otte@nqks.com 785.238.8800
Wilson Lake - postponed Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Monday, December 17, 2007    
Olsburg - postponed to Dec 29th Gary Jeffrey gjeffrey@kansas.net 785.468.3187
Wednesday, December 19, 2007    
Cheyenne Bottoms Helen Hands cheybott@wp.state.ks.us 620.793.3066
Slate Creek Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.442.4165
Friday,December 21, 2007    
Camp Naish Stan Roth sdroth@ku.edu
Waconda Lake - postponed Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Wilson Lake Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Saturday, December 22, 2007    
Arkansas City Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com 620.442.4165
Blue Rapids Tom Parker tlparker1@sbcglobal.net; 785.363.7228
El Dorado Bill Langley blangley@butlercc.edu 316.889.5434
Yoder Mary Clark mclark@hutchrec.com; 620.663.7411 (work)
Sunday, December 23, 2007    
Leavenworth John Schukman schuksaya@kc.rr.com 912.727.5141
Saturday, December 29, 2007    
Kirwin Craig Mowry 785.543.6673
Morton County Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Olathe Don Weiss don.weiss@comcast.net 913.634.0135
Olsburg Gary Jeffrey cinraney@ksu.edu 785.532.3157
Parsons (Southeast Kansas) Rick Tucker rickt@terraworld.net
Red Hills Pete Janzen pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net 316.832.0182
Salina Harold Lear 785-825-7889
Sunday, December 30, 2007    
Black Mesa (Oklahoma) Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Junction City Chuck Otte otte@nqks.com 785.238.8800
Monday, December 31, 2007    
Liberal Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com 773.248.0570
Friday, January 4, 2008    
Quivira Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Saturday, January 5, 2008    
Benedictine Bottoms - cancelled Roxanna Tosterud rtosterud@benedictine.edu 913.367.0197
Blackwolf Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Garden City Marie Osterbuhr mosterbuhr@yahoo.com 620.276.8145
Sawyer Ken Brunson kenb@wp.state.ks.us 620.672.0792 (office)
Sunday, January 6, 2008    
Doniphan Mike Stewart ab0vm@kc.rr.com 913.240.1238
Kanopolis Lake Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Toronto/Fall River Aaron Mitchell aaronmitchell76@hotmail.com 913.980.2379
Saturday, January 12, 2008    
Syracuse Art Nonhof art.nonhof@GCCCKS.EDU
To Be Announced, contact compiler    
Webster Reservoir Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com 785.658.2595 
Cedar Bluffs Scott Seltman sselt@gbta.net

Additional Information for above counts:

Arkansas City - Meet at Newman Park on Highway 77 just north of the Arkansas River bridge at 8:00 a.m.

Blackwolf - meet at the Rader house in Wilson at 7:30 a.m..  Please call or e-mail if you plan on attending.

Blue Rapids - Meet in front of the Community Center on the Town Square at 7:30 a.m.

Cheyenne Bottoms - Meet at the Cheyenne Bottoms Wildlife Area office at 8:00 a.m.

Doniphan - Contact compiler, assignments will be given in advance

El Dorado - Meet at the McDonalds in El Dorado, 2004 West Central, at 7:30 a.m.

Halstead/Newton - Meet at the Kaufman Museum in North Newton at 6:30 a.m.

John Redmond - Meet at 7:30 at the Corp Office west of New Strawn or the Flint Hills Refuge Office in Hartford

Junction City - Meet at Sapp Brothers Truck stop, I-70 Exit 295, at 7:30 a.m.

Kanopolis Lake - Meet at the convenience store at the south end of the dam at 8:00 a.m.

Oskaloosa/Perry Lake - Contact compiler - area assignments will be given in advance.  A chili pot luck will be held at the Corps office at the end of the day to compile the county.

Olathe - Meet at the Ernie Miller Nature Park at 7:00 a.m.

Olsburg - Meet at the Randolph Cafe around 7 - 7:30

Parsons - Meet at the Stockyard Plaza truck stop at 7:00 a.m., located at US 400 and 59 Hwy, 1 mile north of Parsons.

Quivira - Meet at the headquarters at 7:15 a.m.

Red Hills - Meet at the Indian Grill Restaurant on U.S. 160. Groups will depart at 7:30 a.m. This count also requires the $5.00 NAS fee. Compilation at Buster's in Sun City at 5:30 p.m.

Slate Creek - Meet at the Slate Creek Baptist Church, 7 miles south of Oxford at 8:00 a.m.

Toronto/Fall River -  meeting in the campground below the dam at Fall River Lake at 7:30 a.m.

Udall/Winfield - Meet at Southwestern College, Beech Science Center at 7:30 a.m.

Wakefield - Meet at the Short Stop Convenience Store on main street in Wakefield at 7:15 a.m.

Wichita - Meet at the Lawrence-Dumont Stadium parking lot at 7:30 a.m.. All participants pay a $5.00 fee to the National Audubon Society. Compilation is at 5:30 pm. at the Great Plains Nature Center. Chili and beverages will be provided.

Wilson Lake - Meet at the State Park Office at 7:15 a.m.

Back to home page