Kansas Christmas Bird Counts, 2006 - 2007

Please contact the compiler for all details. If you have dates to add or information to change, or questions in general regarding these counts, please contact Chuck Otte at otte@nqks.com. Many of these are "Audubon" counts so there may be a small fee to participate.  Please contact the compiler for details. 

Updated Tuesday, December 19, 2006

Date/CBC Compiler Contact
     
Thursday, December 14, 2006    
Quivira NWR Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com; 785.658.2595 
     
Saturday, December 16, 2006    
Halstead/Newton Dwight Platt platword@southwind.net; 316.283.6708
Hays Greg Farley gfarley@fhsu.edu; 785.628.5965
Lawrence Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu; 785.843.8573
Manhattan drintoul at ksu.edu; 785/532-6615; www.ksu.edu/audubon
Salina Harold Lear hvlear@yahoo.com; 785.823.2366
Topeka Gary Haden gchaden@earthlink.com; 785.273.5598
Wichita Pete Janzen pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net; 316.832.0182
Wilson Lake Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com; 785.658.2595
Yoder (Reno County) Mary Clark mclark@hutchrec.com; 620.663.7411 (work)
     
Sunday, December 17, 2006    
Baldwin City Roger Boyd Roger.Boyd@bakeru.edu; 785.594.3172
Bonner Springs/Lansing Galen Pittman gpittman@ku.edu; 785.843.8573
Emporia Jean Schulenberg jschulen@emporia.edu; 620.341.5896
Olathe Don Weiss don.weiss@comcast.net; 913.364.0135
Perry Lake Bunnie Watkins Bunnie.A.Watkins@nwk02.usace.army.mil; 785.597.5144
Scott Lake Sara Shane tom.shane@sbcglobal.net; 620.275.4616
Waconda Lake Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com; 785.658.2595
Wakefield Chuck Otte otte@nqks.com; 785.238.8800

Winfield

Max Thompson maxt@cox.net;  620.229.6112
     
Monday, December 18, 2006    
Olsburg Gary Jeffrey gjeffrey@kansas.net; 785.468.3587
     
Tuesday, December 19, 2006    
Cheyenne Bottoms Helen Hands helenh@wp.state.ks.us; 620.793.3066
     
Wednesday, December 20, 2006    
Slate Creek  Moved To Dec. 27th Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com; 620.442.4165
     
Saturday, December 23, 2006    
Arkansas City Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com; 620.442.4165
Bonny (Colorado) Glenn Walbek gwalbek@comcast.net
Linn County Roger Boyd Roger.Boyd@bakeru.edu; 785.594.3172
     
Wednesday, December 27, 2006    

Junction City

Chuck Otte otte@nqks.com; 785.238.8800
Slate Creek Gene Young youngg6264@yahoo.com; 620.442.4165
     
Saturday, December 30, 2006    
Blue Rapids Tom Parker tlparker1@sbcglobal.net; 785.363.7228
Cimarron National Grasslands Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com: 773.248.0570
El Dorado Bill Langley blangley@butlercc.edu; 316.321.3495
John Redmond Reservoir Bill Culbertson bobc@wp.state.ks.us; 620.364.2522
Leavenworth/Atchison John Schukman schuksaya@kc.rr.com; 913.727.5141
Red Hills Pete Janzen pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net; 316.832.0182
     
Sunday, December 31, 2006    
Kenton (Black Mesa), Oklahoma Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com: 773.248.0570
     
Monday, January 1, 2007    
Liberal/Seward County (tentative - contact compiler) Sebastian Patti Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com: 773.248.0570
Ulysses Kellye Hart pubah73@YAHOO.COM; 620.356.2882
     
Tuesday, January 2, 2007    
Camp Naish Stan Roth sdroth@ku.edu; 785.843.4764
     
Saturday, January 6, 2007    
Blackwolf Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com; 785.658.2595
Doniphan Mike Stewart ab0vm@kc.rr.com; 913.240.1238
Parsons (Southeast Kansas) Paul Milks milksplm@yahoo.com
Pomona Jeffrey Bender jeffb@wp.state.ks.us; 785.828.4933
Sawyer Ken Brunson kenb@wp.state.ks.us; 620-672-0792 (office)
     
Sunday, January 7, 2007    
Benedictine Bottoms (Atchison) Roxanna Tosterud rtosterud@benedictine.edu; 913.367.0197
Kanopolis Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com; 785.658.2595
     
Saturday, January 13, 2007    
Garden City Marie Osterbuhr mosterbuhr@yahoo.com; 620.276.8145
     
To Be Announced, contact compiler    
Cedar Bluffs Scott Seltman sselt@gbta.net
Webster Mike Rader mike_rader@hotmail.com; 785.658.2595

Arkansas City - Meet at Newman Park on Hwy 77 just north of the Arkansas River at 8 a.m.

Baldwin City - Meet at the Sante Fe Depot near grain elevator in west Baldwin at 7:30am. If you know you are planning to attend please contact Roger.  We will have a Lunch at the depot at 12:30 so if all you have contribute is day - this is the place.

Blue Rapids - Participants should meet in front of the community center on the town square at 7:30 a.m. A potluck supper will be held afterward around 5 p.m.; participants need not bring anything but themselves.

Bonner Springs/Lansing - Contact compiler for details in advance of the count.

Cheyenne Bottoms - Meet at the headquarters office at 8:00 a.m.

Bonny - Contact compiler for details.

Cimarron National Grasslands - Meet at the El Rancho Motel (620.697.2117) Elkhart, KS on Friday night OR meet on Saturday at 8:30 a.m. at the Elkhart Cemetery.

El Dorado - Meet at the McDonald's in El Dorado, 2004 W. Central, 7:30 a.m.

Halstead/Newton - Meet at the Kaufman Museum, N. Newton, 6:30 a.m.. Participants pay a fee of $7.50.Bring a sack lunch.

Junction City - Meet at Sapp Brothers Truck Stop, I-70 & US77 by 7:30 a.m.

Kenton (Black Mesa) - Meet in downtown Kenton at 8:30 a.m. CST

Lawrence - interested participants need to contact the compiler prior to the count to be assigned to a party.  Compilation/pot luck is at the Prairie Park Nature Center in Lawrence at the end of the day, around 5:30 p.m.

Linn County - Meet at Restaurant at LaCygne exit on way to power plant at 7:15 am. If you know you are planning to attend please contact Roger ahead of time for planning purposes. Compilation at the restaurant at ~5:15 pm.

Manhattan - We have 6 different sectors, each with a different section leader, meeting at 6 different times and places in the morning. Contact the compiler ( ) and he can get you linked up with an appropriate section leader.

Olathe - Meet at Ernie Miller Nature Park at 7:00 a.m.

Parsons (Southeast Kansas) - Meet at Stockyard Plaza Truck Stop, 1 mile north of Parsons, US 59/400 Intersection at 7 a.m.

Pomona - Meet at the State Park Office at 7:30 a.m.

Quivira NWR - Meet at the refuge headquarters at 7:30 a.m.

Red Hills - Meet at the Indian Grill Restaurant on US Hwy 160. Groups will depart at 7:30 a.m. This count also requires a $5 NAS fee. Compilation at Buster’s in Sun City at 5:30 p.m.

Salina - Meet at Lakewood Discovery Center at Lakewood Park at 7:30 a.m.  Meet there again at noon for lunch (bring you own lunch).

Slate Creek - Meet at the Slate Creek Baptist Church, 7 miles south of Oxford at 8 a.m.

Wakefield - Meet at the Short Stop Convenience Store on main street in Wakefield at 7:15 a.m.

Wichita - Meet at Lawrence-Dumont stadium parking lot at 7:30 a.m. All participants pay $5.00 to the National Audubon Society. Compilation: 5:30 p.m. at the Great Plains Nature Center.

Winfield - Meet at Beech Science Center at Southwestern College at 7:30 a.m.

Yoder - Meet at Carriage Crossing Restaurant in Yoder at 7:00 a.m.

Back to home page